tourhq

Connecting travellers to guides around the world

tourhq
stuart Review submited by Stuart
Contact Stuart

Food/Drink Toue

Reviewed January 19, 2019

This was my second private tour with Randy and it did not disappoint. There may be someone out there that knows more about New Orleans than Randy, but if they do, they couldn’t deliver the information in an engaged and interesting fashion as Randy. We talked about the history of food and wine in NO, learned about historic NO restaurants, and discussed the evolution of the city’s signature cocktails. As always, a fantastic walking tour of a city rich in history. Thanks again, Randy!

Travelled solo in January

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
randybibb-neworleans-tour-guide
Randy Bibb's response to the review

January 21, 2019

Thank you, Stuart! It was a great tour and great hanging out with you. I just want to say something here, I apologize that TourHQ made it so difficult for this tour to be booked and I want to speak out on this now. TourHQ really does not allow easy communication between tourist and tour guide. S More

tuart tried to book a tour and it gave me two options: [Accept] or [Decline]. Well, I had questions I needed to ask him before I could [Accept] or [Decline] and I hoped that if I hit [Decline] it might give me a communication box - but it didn't. I realize that TourHQ is afraid that if they give a tour guide direct communication with a tourist they will book a tour outside of the TourHQ system and TourHQ will be out their commission. This SERIOUSLY needs to be looked at. There needs to be an inner messaging system that allows us to communicate with our clients and, guess what - it's possible for inner communication systems to censor out email addresses and phone numbers while negotiating with a client. Take a good look at this, TourHQ - I have lost clients because of this. Luckily, Stuart perservered and for the rest of you out there - until TourHQ makes their system more conducive to professionalism please perservere, too. And as for you, Stuart - THANKS AGAIN! Less

grace Review submited by Grace
Contact Grace

New Orleans Fun!

Reviewed December 2, 2018

Randy was such a delight! So informative and full of insight! He led us all on a fascinating tour of NOLA bars and brothels (didn't actually go in the brothels). He sprinkled his tour with personal stories and had a great historical perspective. He really added to the delight of our NOLA experience. But, Randy, please post the recipe for the Oyster Loaf!! ;-) 

~Grace

Travelled in November as a family

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
randybibb-neworleans-tour-guide
Randy Bibb's response to the review

December 6, 2018

Thank, Grace, for the great review! I thoroughly enjoyed being with you on the Scandalous Cocktail tour and I'm glad you did too. I posted the recipe for the Oyster Loaf on the homepage of my website. Enjoy!

elizabeth Review submited by Elizabeth
Contact Elizabeth

Randy is a Delightful Storyteller

Reviewed November 13, 2018

Randy is an energetic and well informed storyteller. Being a local, he loves New Orleans and wants to tell her stories. He absolutely made our night and our trip.

Travelled in November as a couple

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
randybibb-neworleans-tour-guide
Randy Bibb's response to the review

November 26, 2018

Thank you, Elizabeth, for the very nice review! I had a wonderful time with you and your Mom and it was a lot of fun. I'm sorry for the mix-up, but I was glad that I could make it right. I wasn't going to mention it because, first of all, excuses are just that - excuses - and secondly, I wasn't More

sure how the mix-up happened at all. But now I know what happened and it's something that people travelling in the U.S. using TourHQ really should know. TourHQ uses the International style of writing dates. In the United States, November 12, 2018 is written as 11/12/18. (The month precedes the date.) Internationally, it is written as 12/11/18. (With the day's date preceding the month.) Even though Elizabeth had written to me stating she was coming in November, the final confirmation I got from TourHQ was 12/11/18 - suggesting that the reservation was for December 11, 2018. That being my TourHQ confirmation, that's what I put on my calendar. Crisis averted - the tour started a little late and I compensated to Elizabeth's satisfaction and all is right with the world. But for Tour Guides in the U.S. and for people booking U.S. guides through TourHQ it's something to keep in mind because it can (and obviously does) cause confusion. Less

steve Review submited by Steve
Contact Steve

Our favorite tour guide

Reviewed October 29, 2018

Randy Bibb first and foremost is a man who cares about his city and the history that goes along with it.  That is important to know, Randy is not your guy if you are looking for someone to talk about American Horror Story or whatever bs haunting your hotel claims.  His tours are informative and entertaining, and I guarentee you will learn and laugh. We have been on a lot of walking tours around the world and too often you either learn or laugh, but seldom do you do both.  Randy may be one of those people born to be the life of the party, but he has clearly spent much of his life researching the history of New Orleans.  His personality together with his knowledge of history make for a great tour, but he is our favorite tour guide because he cares about where he is from.  He is sentimental about his city and people who have or do reside in it.  I fear that is something that too many of us have lost. 

Steve & Charlotte from Chicago.

We took the vodoo cemetry tour and the ghost tour.  Both were great, but we would recommend any tour he offers and hope to do others next spring.

Travelled in October as a couple

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
randybibb-neworleans-tour-guide
Randy Bibb's response to the review

November 13, 2018

Awwww - thanks, Steve! It was great hanging out with y'all! Come back and see us soon!

kit Review submited by Kit
Contact Kit

Delightful tour filled with surprises!

Reviewed July 9, 2018

 and Randy led a fascinating and informative tour of the Degas House. He has a wonderful way of weaving history, legend and art all together for a most entertaining tour. Randy's electric personality had us all involved and immersed in the history he was presenting. I can't wait until my next visit to NOLA to take Randy's Garden District Tour.

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
randybibb-neworleans-tour-guide
Randy Bibb's response to the review

August 8, 2018

Thanks, Kit, for taking the time to write this review! Yes, New Orleans is full of surprises -- one of the things I like most about it. It was great hanging out with you. Don't stay away too long!