tourhq

Connecting travellers to guides around the world

tourhq
natalie Review submited by Natalie
Contact Natalie

Adventure never to be forgotten

Reviewed February 25, 2020

My guide was actually called Abdulaziz. He was great. Answered any question about any topic, climbed right down to the valley of the crater, signed our names in the salt, took breaks if needed. We got caught in a terrible sand storm on the way back and nearly ended up in a crash but Abdulaziz saved the day with his swift reflexes. He even bought me some tea and nice treats! He took lots of pics too!

Travelled solo in February

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
ahmadaljuaed-taif-tour-guide
AHMAD ALJUAED's response to the review

February 26, 2020

Thanks

jan Review submited by Jan
Contact Jan

We were well taken care of

Reviewed January 31, 2020

Ahmad helped me coordinate a stay in Riyadh for my 2 clients. He was very elastic and dealt quickly with problem we had (not caused bby him but by hotel). He also kept me informed about what was going on so I felt at ease.

Travelled in January as a couple

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
ahmadaljuaed-taif-tour-guide
AHMAD ALJUAED's response to the review

February 1, 2020

Thank you

ella Review submited by Ella
Contact Ella

Jabel Lawz, Mt Sinai & the Split Rock

Reviewed January 16, 2020

We spent 2 full days with Salem AlAtawi on an amazing trip back in time to the days of Moses (Musa).  Salem was an excellent driver and we felt safe even on some tricky offroad terrain.  He was an excellent host and knew where to get the best food for the 3 women and 3 children in our group.  I highly recommend his services.  

Travelled in January as a family

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
ahmadaljuaed-taif-tour-guide
AHMAD ALJUAED's response to the review

January 16, 2020

Thank you

samson Review submited by Samson
Contact Samson

Fantastic day tour of Hail and Jubbah

Reviewed January 8, 2020

My parents and I had a fantastic day full of surprises with Mr Ahmed's team in Hail. We were taken around the city of Hail by Majed in the morning and the city of Jubbah by Mammdoh in the afternoon. Both of them did a fantastic job.

At 9am we were picked up at our hotel. As with most tourist attractions in Saudi Arabia, the two historical moments, Arrif and Qishlah castles were closed to the public. But fortunately with Majed who works for the castles, we were able to enter. Majed speaks very good English. We learned about the history of the city and how it is protected by mountains on three sides and the two castle on the forth side. Next, we visited a market where people sell pigeons and rabbits for dinner and a coffee kettle workshop, for which Hail is famous. The last stop in the city was the Shammar Mountains, an important Islamic monument, where we enjoyed a panoramic view of the city.

Next, we were off to the city of Jubbah about an hour away with Mammdoh. Along the way we stopped by a small camel farm and had some fun riding them. My parents and I had never done that and it was a great experience. After lunch at a local restaurant, we visited the Naif Palace Museum. We were warmly welcomed as I guess Chinese visitors are indeed very rare there. Before we left we gifted a ¥10 Chinese banknote to their money collection. 

After the museum, we came to the most important part of the tour: the Jubbah Rock Art. At the site, we saw various animals, humans, carriages and early Arabic writings. They were made by a number of civilisations on top of each other, the oldest of which as old as 12,000 years. Without a tour guide, it would be almost impossible to find the carvings. Mammdoh's English is not as good as Majed's but luckily we came across an English speaking family. While Mammdoh explained in Arabic, they interpreted for us. Before we headed back to Hail, we had a quick snack and drink stop, kindly paid for by Mammdoh.

The tour was supposed to finish at 5pm. But to our surprise a special cultural festival was on in the evening. Majed came back and offered to take us around. 'Hail Season' is an annual festival in its first year initiated by the government to attract visitors to the region. We listened to local music, tasted local food and browsed colourful handicrafts, all made by local Hail people. Majed bought us a potato dish known as 'timmon' and a straw hat as gift. We returned to the hotel at pm.

Both guides were extremely profesional, friendly and generous. I hight recommend.

Travelled in January as a family

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness
ahmadaljuaed-taif-tour-guide
AHMAD ALJUAED's response to the review

January 12, 2020

Thank you

sean Review submited by Sean
Contact Sean

Day tour in Riyadh and trip out to Edge of the World

Reviewed December 11, 2019

I did a 12 hour tour with Salman and Faisan in Riyadh the first week of December. We first visited the the fort and the mosque downtown, as well as the market. Salman was very knowledgeable and quite energetic. We then headed out of the city (mass traffic) and drove past the Freedom Tower (fine for me) and met another drive, Faisan, who would lead the tour out to Edge of the World, along with 3 other tourists. Faisan was very laid back, perfect English, good taste in music :-) We had the desert pretty much to ourselves, and had a couple hours to take pictures, videos, and just soak in the views at Edge of the World. We then opted to stay in the desert longer and had a BBQ at a local camp they had set up. Originally was supposed to end my tour with some time to look around Ad Diryiah, but due to the Winter Festival going on, much of it was closed off and additional fees had to be paid for something that was otherwise free, so opted to skip that. Edge of the World was the purpose, the highlight, and not regretted. Thanks guys.

Travelled solo in December

  • Communication
  • Knowledge
  • Friendliness
  • Resourcefulness