Mont Saint Michel Abbey and Village Discovery
Mont Saint Michel was founded in 709 after Bishop Aubert received a visit from the Archangel Saint Michael in 708, asking him to build a sanctuary in his honor. Aubert could not believe it at first and hesitated, so the archangel put his finger on Aubert's skull and made a hole in it to show him that this was not a dream. Aubert then sent two emissaries to Monte Gargano in Italy, where the archangel had appeared in the 5th century.
A church was built in the 10th century, "Our Lady Underground", and it was consolidated in the 11th century in order to build the abbey church that we know today above it.
Mont Saint Michel has several layers of construction. In the 13th century, the "Wonder" was added. This three-story building includes the cloister and the refectory.
The mount was attacked by the English during the Hundred Years' War but never surrendered.
It became a jail from 1790 until 1863. More than 14,000 prisoners passed through this jail.
In 1876, Mont Saint Michel was classified as a historical monument and restored.
In 1979, it was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.